“I hurt that woman,” LaBeouf said. “And in the process of doing that, I hurt many other people, and many other people before that woman. I was a pleasure-seeking, selfish, self-centered, dishonest, inconsiderate, fearful human being.” LaBeouf has previously denied many of the allegations, though he appeared to be in a reflective and remorseful mood while discussing his relationship with Twigs.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here. The interview comes just days after Olivia Wilde gave a bombshell interview in which she claimed that she fired LaBeouf from her upcoming film “Don’t Worry Darling” because she was worried that the allegations against him could compromise Florence Pugh’s safety. “A lot came to light after this happened that really troubled me, in terms of his behavior,” Wilde said. “For our film, what we really needed was an energy that was incredibly supportive. Particularly with a movie like this, I knew that I was going to be asking Florence to be in very vulnerable situations, and my priority was making her feel safe and making her feel supported.” LaBeouf denied Wilde’s recounting of the story, telling Wilde that he quit the project over scheduling conflicts in an email shared with IndieWire. “I am a little confused about the narrative that I was fired,” he wrote. “You and I both know the reasons for my exit. I quit your film because your actors & I couldn’t find time to rehearse.” While LaBeouf is still contesting specific allegations, he made it very clear throughout the interview with Bernthal that he regrets some of his past behavior. “I fucked up bad,” he said. “Like crash and burn type shit. [I] hurt a lot of people, and I’m fully aware of that. And I’m going to owe for the rest of my life.”